[Home] [Publications] [Research] [Teaching] [Short Bio] [Demo & Data] [Codes]

Short Bio

Wenwu Wang is currently a Professor of Signal Processing and Machine Learning, and a Co-Director of the Machine Audition Lab within the Centre for Vision Speech and Signal Processing. He is also an AI Fellow of Surrey Institute for People Centred Arteficial Intelligence.

He was born in Anhui, China. He received the B.Sc. degree in 1997, the M.E. degree in 2000, and the Ph.D. degree in 2002, all from Harbin Engineering University, China. He then worked in King's College London (2002-2003), Cardiff University (2004-2005), Tao Group Ltd. (now Antix Labs Ltd.) (2005-2006), and Creative Labs (2006-2007), before joining University of Surrey, UK, in May 2007. He was a Visiting Scholar at the Perception and Neurodynamics Laboratory (PNL) and the Center for Cognitive and Brain Sciences, in Ohio State University, USA, in 2008. He is a Guest Professor at Qingdao University of Science and Technology (2018-) and at Tianjin Univrsity (2020-).

His current research interests include blind signal processing, sparse signal processing, audio-visual signal processing, machine learning and perception, artificial intelligence, machine audition (listening), and statistical anomaly detection. He has (co)-authored over 300 publications in these areas including two books: Machine Audition: Principles, Algorithms and Systems by IGI Global published in 2010 and Blind Source Separation: Advances in Theory Algorithms and Applications by Springer in 2014. His work has been funded by EPSRC, EU, Dstl, MoD, DoD, Home Office, Royal Academy of Engineering, National Physical Laboratory, BBC, and industry (including Samsung, Tencent, Huawei, Atlas, Saab, and Kaon).

He is a (co-)author or (co-)recipient of over 15 awards including the 2022 IEEE SPS Young Author Best Paper Award, ICAUS 2021 Best Paper Award, DCASE 2020 Best Paper Award, DCASE 2019 and 2020 Reproducible System Award, LVA/ICA 2018 Best Student Paper Award, FSDM 2016 Best Oral Presentation, ICASSP 2019 and LVA/ICA 2010 Best Student Paper Award Nomenees, 2016 TVB Europe Award for Best Achievement in Sound, 2012 Best Solution Award on the Dstl Challenge, and the 1st place in 2020 DCASE challenge on "Urban Sound Tagging with Spatio-Temporal Context", and the 1st place in the 2017 DCASE Challenge on "Large-scale Weakly Supervised Sound Event Detection for Smart Cars". He also received the Outstanding Graduate Award in 2000, the Excellent Paper Award in 2000, the Excellent Thesis Award in 2000 and numerous Scholarships for academic excellence from Harbin Engineering University. He was on the 2021 and 2022 Standford University list of World Top 2% Scientists.

He is a Senior Area Editor (2019-) for IEEE Transactions on Signal Processing, an Associate Editor (2020-) for IEEE/ACM Transactions on Audio Speech and Language Processing, an Associate Editor of Nature Scientific Report (2022-) and Senior Area Editor of Digital Signal Processing (2021-), and an Associate Editor (2019-) for EURASIP Journal on Audio Speech and Music Processing. He is a Specialty Editor in Chief (2021-) of Frontier in Signal Processing, and was an Associate Editor (2014-2018) for IEEE Transactions on Signal Processing. He is elected Chair (2023-) of IEEE SPS Machine Learning for Signal Processing Technical Committee, elected Vice Chair (2022-) of EURASIP Technical Area Committee on Acoustic Speech and Music Signal Processing, an elected Member (2021-) of the IEEE Signal Processing Theory and Methods Technical Committee, and an elected Member (2019-) of the International Steering Committee of Latent Variable Analysis and Signal Separation. He was a Publication Co-Chair for ICASSP 2019 (Brighton, UK) and a Satellite Workshop Co-Chair for INTERSPEECH 2022 (Incheon, Korea), and a Technical/Program Committee Member of over 100 international conferences. He is a Senior Member of IEEE, and a Fellow of the Higher Education Academy.

[Home] [Publications] [Research] [Teaching] [Short Bio] [Demo & Data] [Codes]

Last updated in Jan 2023
First created in May 2007